Eat.Pray.Heal

Chocolate Goo

Leave a comment

Craving something sweet but don’t have a lot of time or just don’t want to bake something that will have leftovers to tempt you in the fridge?  I don’t know where we came up with this or why we started making it, but my sister and I used to make something we called “chocolate goo” when we were kids.  I still make it to this day when my sweet tooth starts to ache.  Below I’ve posted the original version and the “healthier” version.

 

Original

Chocolate Goo Unhealthy

Put ingredients in a bowl in this order:  1/4 cup oats, 1 heaping Tbsp peanut butter, 1 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp Earth Balance, small handful vegan chocolate chips (I’ll the leave the amount to your discretion).  Do not stir the ingredients together; just place them in a bowl in that order and then put it in the microwave for 45 seconds.  Remove from the microwave, stir, and enjoy!

 

Healthier Version

Healthy Goo

The directions are the same as for the original recipe, but the ingredients are just slightly different:  1/4 cup oats, 1 heaping Tbsp of peanut butter, 1 Tbsp raw turbinado sugar, 1 tsp coconut oil, small handful vegan chocolate chips.

 

As you can see from the pictures, the consistency of the goo varies depending on which recipe you use, so that may be something to take into consideration when deciding which one you want to try.  Also, the “healthier” version does have a slightly different taste because of the coconut oil.  You may like that or you may not.  It’s all up to your preference, but I personally like both, and I’m telling you–this simple recipe is perfect for a quick chocolate fix.

 

I also wanted to let you know that if you read my last post about the homemade sunscreen and are wondering how it turned out, we ended up not going to the lake after all, so I haven’t made the sunscreen yet.  I’ll let you know as soon as I do!

Author: Amber Vo

Traditionalist Catholic, wife, foodie, animal lover, barren. My blog: http://thisluminousroaditravel.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

