Eat.Pray.Heal

Vegan Protein Shake

4 Comments

I don’t remember where I originally found this recipe, but I have always struggled to maintain a healthy weight.  I have a high metabolism, and I’m very active.  So, I started taking this vegan protein shake every morning after doing yoga, and it tastes so good!  This is a great shake for vegan athletes.  Most protein shakes use animal protein, but this shake does not.  And like I said, it tastes really good!  You should drink this shake within an hour after a workout in order for the protein to work best at helping you build muscle (and therefore weight, in my case).

Ingredients

1.5 cups almond milk

2 Tbsp peanut/almond butter

1 Tbsp ground flaxseed

1-2 Tbsp coconut oil

2 Tbsp chia seeds

2 scoops vanilla protein powder (See note below.)

1 tsp maca root powder

1 banana

1 tsp vanilla

4 ice cubes

 

Just put all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Garden-of-Life-Raw-Organic-Protein-Vanilla-Vanilla-658010116039

Note:  I use Raw Protein, which I bought at Whole Foods, because it is raw, vegan, organic, gluten free, and has no artificial flavors, sweeteners, or preservatives.  I really like that the protein in it comes from a diverse group of sources, including quinoa sprout, garbanzo bean sprout, adzuki bean sprout, etc.  It also contains probiotics, which are vital for a healthy immune system.  It even has chlorella in it, which is well-known as a superfood.  I feel this is the best and most complete protein powder I’ve seen, and the vanilla gives it a nice flavor.

Author: Amber Vo

Traditionalist Catholic, wife, foodie, animal lover, barren. My blog: http://thisluminousroaditravel.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Vegan Protein Shake

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article
    seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d
    post to let you know. The design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Thanks

  2. always i used to read smaller articles which also clear their motive,
    and that is also happening with this article which I am reading
    now.

  3. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like
    this one today.

Leave a Reply

